Kenya Airways Flights

Founded in 1977, Kenya Airways Ltd., or more commonly known as Kenya Airways, is the flag carrier of Kenya. Its head office is situated in Embakasi, Nairobi and has its hub at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Its frequent-flyer program is Flying Blue. Previously wholly owned by the Government of Kenya, it was the first African flag carrier to have successfully privatised and is currently a public-private partnership. Its current fleet size is 43 (passenger fleet: two Boeing 737-300s, three Boeing 777-300ERs, four each of Boeing 737-700s and Boeing 777-200ERs, six Boeing 787–8s, seven Boeing 737-800s, and 15 Embraer 190s; and two Boeing 737-300Fs for cargo operations) and serves 56 destinations.

Why Fly with Kenya Airways

How to Check In

Passengers can check-in online with an e-ticket from 30 hours until two hours prior to departure. Online check-in allows passengers to skip long queues at the airport, choose their preferred seats, print out the boarding pass at their own convenience, and drop off their luggage at the dedicated online check-in drop-off point and proceed to the boarding gate. There’s also priority check-in for Flying Blue Elite members (Gold and Platinum) flying from Nairobi or any other destination just by presenting their Flying Blue card at the counter to automatically register your miles. Requests for upgrades can be made if there are sufficient miles in the card. Note that all passengers flying to Dubai who have checked baggage are required to inform the staff at transfer gate B (near gate 118), otherwise their baggage will not be transferred. Only passengers with legal documentation allowing transit and shipment of ivory are allowed to carry it. Also note that Kenyan passport holders travelling out and into Kenya are not required to fill immigration cards at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport.

Booking Fees

Kenya Airways accept several payment methods. One is by 3D Secure credit cards, although the service is only applicable to e-Commerce/Internet transactions. There’s also Airtel Money, which can be used to pay a ticket that is less than or equal to Kshs. 140,000, inclusive of taxes. Only the standard Airtel Money transaction charge applies; no extra charges. There’s also MPESA. Routes eligible for MPESA payment are Nairobi, Kisumu, Mombasa, Entebbe, Dar Es Salaam, Rwanda, and Burundi.

Where We Fly (International and domestic departures)

Currently, Kenya Airways flies to 56 destinations. In East and North Africa – Tanzania, Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Sudan, Rwanda, and Kenya; in Central Africa – Cameroon and Gabon; in Europe – France, Netherlands, and the United Kingdom; in the Far East – China, Hong Kong, and Thailand; in the Middle East – Dubai; in Southern Africa – Angola, Botswana, Comoros and Mayotte, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Seychelles, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe; and in West Africa – Benin, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, and Sierra Leone.

Punctuality (how many hours before to check-in, etc.)

Passengers on domestic flights must check-in at least one-and-a-half hours, regardless of class travel. The counters will be closed one hour before the scheduled departure time. For international flight passengers, you are required to check in at least two-and-a-half hours before departure of flight. Similar to the domestic flights, counters will be closed one hour prior to the scheduled departure time.

Prices shown on this page are estimated lowest prices only. Found in the last 45 days.